The government is vaccinating students between the age group of 12 and 17 in 57 districts against COVID-19 from today.

Spokesperson at the Ministry of Health and Population Dr Sangeeta Mishra informed that the first dose of Moderna vaccine will be administered to the students from December 19 to 29.

According to her, students of Taplejung, Sankhuwasabha, Okhaldhunga, Khotang, Bhojpur, Dhankuta, Terhathum, Panchthar, Ilam and Udaipur of Province No. 1 and Siraha, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Rautahat and Bara districts of Province No. 2, Dolakha, Sindhupanchok, Rasuwa, Dhading, Nuwakot, Ramechhap and Makwanpur of Bagmati, Gorkha, Manang, Mustang, Myagdi, Lamjung, Tanahu, Nawalparasi East, Syangja and Parbat, Rukumpur, Rolpa, Lumbani, Rolpa Arghakhanchi, Palpa, Nawalparasi West, Kapilvastu, Bardiya, Dolpa, Mugu, Humla, Jumla, Kalikot, Dailekh, Jajarkot, Rukumpashchim and Salyan districts of Karnali along with Bajura, Bajhang, Darchula, Baitadi, Doti, Achham and Kanchanpur districts of the far west will be vaccinated.

The second dose will be administered conducted from January 16 to 26.

Similarly, the Ministry is also administering Pfizer vaccine in 19 districts, where people over 12 years of age and those with chronic illnesses were administered their first dose of Pfizer vaccine, as well as in Sindhuli.

Likewise, the Ministry is scheduled to administer the first dose of Pfizer vaccine to the children of Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Kavrepalanchok, Chitwan, Sindhuli, Dadeldhura and Surkhet districts from December 28 to January 6. The second dose will be given in these districts from January 18 to 27, according to the Ministry.