Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) candidate Dr Toshima Karki has been elected as a member of the House of Representatives from Lalitpur-3.

According to the final election results announced on Thursday morning, Toshima received 31,136 votes. Her closest competitor, Amrit Khadka of CPN-UML got 12, 963 votes while CPN (Maoist Center) candidate Pampha Bhusal received 8,769 votes.

Election Commission (EC) had earlier disqualified Toshima to be an election candidate citing she holds an office of benefit since she is an elected member of the Nepal Medical Council.

After that, Dr Toshima Karki sought help from Supreme Court against the cancellation of her candidature.

Supreme Court made final verdict on November 14, allowing Dr Toshima Karki to participate as a candidate in the November 20 election. With less than a week for the election, Toshima’s election candidature was in jeopardy before the court’s decision.

Rastriya Swatantra Party is currently taking lead in 5 constituencies and has already claimed wins in 4 constituencies.