Several individuals including former Secretary of the Ministry of Land Reforms Chhabiraj Pant and Deep Basnyat were found guilty in Lalita Niwas land grab case.

Their involvement in facilitating the transfer of government land to private entities during the expansion of the Prime Minister’s residence was deemed unlawful.

The special court announced its verdict on the Lalita Niwas land dispute today. After a four-year investigation and 23 days of hearings, the bench comprised of Khushi Prasad Tharu, Ram Bahadur Thapa, and Ritendra Thapa, delivered the judgment.

Among the others convicted were Prem Bahadur Khapung, Ajun Khatiwada, Shankar Subedi, Angur Sigdel, Kedar Prasad Shrestha, Harikrishna Timilsina, Parashuram Pokharel, Krishna Poudel, Tanka Bhat, Ram Kumar Subedi, and Shobhakant Dhakal.

Individuals implicated in the Lalita Niwas land-grab scam were fined Rs 8 million each and sentenced to two years in jail.

Min Bahadur Gurung, owner of Bhatbhateni Supermarket, was found guilty for his role in the controversial land transaction.

High-profile figures like former deputy prime minister Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar and former minister Chandra Dev Joshi were exonerated by the court, along with former minister for Land Reform Chandra Dev Joshi and Secretary Dinesh Hari Adhikari.

The court also ordered the confiscation of all land plots acquired by Samarjung Company through fake guthi and land tenant arrangements. Guthi Sansthan officials found guilty were fined Rs 4.1 million each and sentenced to one year in jail.

Lalita Niwas, covering approximately 300 ropanis of land, was declared government property. The court also ordered the confiscation of land plots held by 65 accused individuals.