Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) has been elected the third Vice President of Nepal.

Yadav was a common candidate of the current ruling coalition and received 184 votes from Federal Parliament and 329 votes from Provincial Assembly (PA) members. The election for the Vice President took place at Federal Parliament Building, New Baneswor from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm on Friday.

According to the Election Commission, 311 federal lawmakers and 518 provincial assembly members cast their votes.

Ashta Laxmi Shakya from CPN (UML), Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav and Pramila Yadav from JSP, and Mamata Jha from the Janamat Party had filed their candidacies for the Vice President position.

According to Part 6, Article 70 of President and Vice President Elections Act, 2074, the President and Vice President should be of different gender and/or communities to represent female and minority communities at the nation’s two highest offices.

However, the position of both the President and Vice President of Nepal were won by male candidates.