CPN (Maoist Center) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) has been appointed Prime Minister of Nepal, and will be sworn in tomorrow at 4 PM.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari appointed Dahal as the Prime Minister of Nepal on Sunday evening after Dahal received the support of 169 lawmakers in the 275-member House of Representatives (HoR).

Dahal submitted a claim on Sunday for the Prime Minister position with the support of the newly formed alliance party.

In a meeting held at Oli’s residence in Balkot, CPN-UML, CPN-MC, Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Janamat Party and Janata Samajwadi Party, jointly decided to form a new government under Dahal’s leadership.

Similarly, independent lawmakers Prabhu Shah, Kiran Kumar Shah and Amresh Kumar Singh also supported Dahal to claim the Prime Minister position.

After Nepali Congress disagreed to name Pushpa Kamal Dahal Nepal’s next Prime Minister, he was quick to reach out to CPN UML to refurbish their old alliance.

Since none of the parties got a majority in the November 20 elections, President Bidya Devi Bhandari had earlier provided time till 5 pm on Sunday, December 25 to form a coalition government under Article 76 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

This is Dahal’s third stint as the Prime Minister of Nepal.