Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) was able to secure a vote of confidence from the House of Representatives (HoR) on Monday for the second time.

PM Dahal got support from 172 HoR members, out of 262 lawmakers present in the meeting. The prime minister needed to secure at least 138 votes to win the trust motion.

PM Dahal received a vote of confidence from the Nepali Congress, Rastriya Swatantra Party, Janata Samajbadi Party, CPN (Unieief Socialist), Janamat Party, Loktantrik Samajbadi Party, Nagarik Unmukti Party, Rastriya Janamorcha Party and three independent lawmakers.

PM Dahal took the vote of confidence from the HoR for the second time after his appointment to the post on 25 December 2022.

According to the constitutional provision, the Prime Minister should take a vote of confidence within 30 days after political parties supporting the government withdraw their support. In this regard, PM Dahal had to take the vote of confidence within March 26 after CPN-UML withdrew their support.

CPN (Maoist Center) Chair Dahal had earlier secured the vote of confidence for the first time on January 10 with 268 votes out of 275 lawmakers.