The newly elected members of the House of Representatives (HoR) are scheduled for their oath-taking ceremony on December 22.

The Federal Parliament Secretariat has informed all 275 members of the HoR, elected in the November 20 elections, will take an oath of office and secrecy on Thursday at 1 pm before taking part in meetings of the House of Representatives.

According to Secretary-General, Dr Bharat Raj Gautam, any member wishing to take the oath in their respective native language will have to present the translated version of the oath details to the Secretariat beforehand.

As per the provision, before the HoR elects the Speaker, the senior-most member (by age), takes an oath before the President and administers the oath to other members.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the seniormost MP, after which the latter will administer the oath to the other MPs.