Kathmandu, September 6

SAFF Women’s Championship, which is the biggest event in South Asian women’s football, is kicking off today at Dashrath Stadium in Kathmandu.

SAARC countries Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Maldives are participating in the competition.

The teams have been divided into two groups. In Group ‘A’ there are India, Maldives, Bangladesh and Pakistan, while in Group ‘B’ there are Nepal, Sri Lanka and Bhutan.

Nepal will face Bhutan in the opening match today at 5:30 pm.

After the group stage matches, the top two teams from the group will qualify for the semi-finals. The final match will be held on September 19.