The special court has sentenced 10 officials, including 3 Deputy Secretaries, of the Itahari Transport Office to prison for embezzlement of collected revenue.

The deputy secretaries Ramesh Prasad Dahal, Bishnu Prasad Paudel and Nayaraj Nepal were convicted on March 14 and were sentenced to eight years in prison on Wednesday. The Special Court convicted Deputy Secretary Dahal for embezzlement of NRs. 32.21 million, Paudel of 80 million and Nepal of 61.7 million.

As per the Corruption Prevention Act 2002, in the case of revenue embezzlement, the convicts will be liable to pay a fine of double the embezzled amount.

Meanwhile, another deputy secretary Homnath Bhattarai was sentenced to 2.5 years in prison. One of the key facilitators of the corruption, Suresh Adhikari has been sentenced to 8 years and 9 years in two separate cases and has been convicted for embezzlement of NRs. 170.4 million.

Similarly, other perpetrators are Maniraj Dahal and Tanka Bahadur Khadka (8 years in prison for embezzlement of NRs. 170.4 million); Devraj Nepal (8.5 years in prison for embezzlement of NRs. 112.2 million); Rudra Prasad Dahal (8 years in prison for embezzlement of NRs. 50.32 million); Tikaram Adhikari (9 years in prison for embezzlement of NRs. 147 million) and Kumar Bahadur Katuwal (6 years for embezzlement of 5.8 million rupees).

In 2017, the Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) filed corruption charges against the officials of the Itahari Transport Management Office at the Special Court, Kathmandu, for failing to submit the total collected revenue to the government.

During the investigation, it was found that 612.1 million rupees were misused and deposited in other accounts by creating fake documents.