The voting in the by-elections for the vacant seats of the House of Representatives (HoR) has concluded. The by-elections took place in Tanahun-1, Bara-1 and Chitwan-2 on Sunday from 7 am to 5 pm.

Swarnim Wagle from Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP), Nepali Congress leader Govinda Bhattarai and Sarbendra Khanal from CPN-UML are competing from Tanahun-1.

In Chitwan-2, RSP Chair Rabi Lamichhane is contesting against CPN-UML leader Ram Prasad Neupane and Nepali Congress leader Jit Narayan Shrestha.

Similarly, JSP Chair Upendra Yadav, Janamat Party leader Shiv Chandra Kushwaha and CPN-UML leader Purushottam Paudel are competing against each other in Bara-2.

The voting at the Naya Kiran Secondary School, a polling centre in Chitwan-2, was suspended for some time after tension was created when the supporters of CPN-UML stopped the supporters of RSP who were shouting slogans.

However, the voting resumed after RSP Chair Lamichhane apologized for violating the Election Code of Conduct.