The Election Commission has completed the vote counting of both FPTP and Proportional Representation (PR) ballot papers.

Through the First-Past-The-Post system, Nepali Congress won 57 seats while CPN-UML emerged as the largest party in the PR vote counting.

CPN-UML gained 2,845,641 PR votes while Nepali Congress finished second in PR vote count with 2,715,225 votes.

The CPN-UML has won 34 PR seats. Meanwhile, the ruling Congress party managed to bag 32 PR seats.

Nepali Congress now has 89 seats in the House of Representatives; CPN (Maoist Centre) has 32 (18 seats under the FPTP system, 14 under the PR system);

The CPN (Unified Socialist) only won 10 seats under the FPTP system, as the party couldn’t cross the threshold for PR seat eligibility.

Similarly, Loktantrik Samajbadi Party (LSP), and Rastriya Janamorcha Party (RJP) also failed to cross the threshold for PR seat eligibility.

The alliance of Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), CPN (Unified Socialist), LSP and RJP, have won 89, 32, 10, 4 and 1 seats, respectively.

Hence, the five-party ruling alliance has secured 136 seats against 138 required to prove a majority in the 275-member HoR.

Amid this situation, CK Raut-led Janamat Party is supposedly in favour of the ruling alliance, which can be the decision-making factor for the alliance to win majority.

Janamat Party has crossed the threshold and became a national party, winning 6 seats in total, including one FPTP seat.

With 13 seats under the PR system and seven FPTP seats, Rabi Lamichhane-led Rastriya Swatantra Party has emerged as the fourth largest party in the HoR with a total of 20 seats.

Meanwhile, CPN-UML has a total of 78 seats and will have a presence in parliament as the second largest party.

Some 61 percent of the 17.98 million registered voters cast their ballots in the single-phase parliamentary and provincial elections on November 20. As per the commission’s report, the number of valid PR votes was 10.05 million.