Nepali Congress held an election today to elect their parliamentary committee leader. Party president Sher Bahadur Deuba and General Secretary Gagan Thapa were competing for the leadership position.

In the voting process, which was held at the premises of the NC parliamentary party office at Singha Durbar, Sher Bahadur Deuba was elected as the parliamentary leader after securing 64 votes. His contestant Gagan Thapa received 25 votes.

Thapa had the support of party leaders including Shekhar Koirala, Bishwa Prakash Sharma and Pradeep Paudel. Deuba had the support of other senior leaders including Ramchandra Paudel, Bimalendra Nidhi, and Prakash Man Singh among others.

Nepali Congress has 89 elected House of Representatives (HoR) members – 57 from the FTTP and 32 from proportional representation.