Election Commission has decided to hold re-election on December 1 (Mangshir 15) in 10 polling stations of Dolakha district.

In the meeting held today morning by the District Election Management Committee (DEMC), Chief Election Officer Dilli Ratna Shrestha decided to do repolling and instructed to start the necessary preparations for the election from today.

DEMC has concluded that the election in the polling booths on November 20 was not held in a free, fair, and impartial manner, as seven booths were captured and 100 ballot papers were looted from three booths.

Repolling will be held in polling booths A, B, and C, of Baiteshwar Secondary School polling centre in Rural Municipality’s Ward 6; polling booths A and B of Janajyoti Secondary School, Putalikath polling centre of Baiteshwar Rural Municipality’s Ward 2; and polling booths A and B of Jafe polling centre in Tamakoshi Rural Municipality’s Ward 3.

The receipts of 100 parliamentary election ballot papers with serial numbers 0072901 to 0073000 went missing amid the chaos created by mob at polling booth B of Kali Dhunga Secondary School on November 20 while security personnel were busy trying to control the mob.

EC has directed Dolakha District Police Office to arrest those who violated election laws on election day and also decided to take action against government employees deputed on poll duty in the 10 polling booths for failing to maintain election sanctity.

CPN-Maoist Centre candidate Ganga Karki is the ruling coalition’s common candidate from Dolakha while CPN-UML has given ticket to Bal Krishna Siwakoti.