Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) Chair Rabi Lamichhane has emerged victorious in the election of the House of Representatives (HoR) from the Chitwan-2 constituency.

Lamichhane won with 54,176 votes in the by-election voting held on Sunday, followed by his closest competitor Jit Narayan Shrestha of Nepali Congress who received 11,214 votes. CPN-UML candidate Ram Prasad Neupane got 10,936 votes.

Lamichhane has been elected from Chitwan-2 for the second time in a row and the votes received by Lamichhane in the by-election exceeded his previous winning record of 49,261 votes in the November 20 election.

RSP has shown strong progress in the by-election as they have registered wins in 2 out of 3 constituencies where the by-elections were held.

In Bara-2, RSP leader Ramesh Kharel is left behind by other candidates, and JSP Chair Upendra Yadav is taking a lead in the vote counting.