Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal (JSP-N), which was formed after the merger between Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJP-N) and Samajbadi Party Nepal (SP-N) in April 22, was registered at the Election Commission (EC) on Sunday.

The newly formed JSP-N will have two leaders — Mahantha Thakur and Upendra Yadav — as executive chairmen.

Similarly, Baburam Bhattarai, Ashok Rai and Rajendra Mahato have been named senior leaders (office bearers) of the party.

Of the 51 names submitted to the Election Commission, 26 are from RJP-N and 25 from SP-N, JSP-N.

On the occasion, JSP-N leader Mahato expressed his belief that the formalisation of unity between the two parties had paved the way for creating a democratic alternative force that could win the rights for Madhesis, Janajatis, women, Dalits, Muslims, Tharus and other marginalised communities and groups of Tarai, hills and mountain region.

Mahato added that his party would create a political committee of 151 members and a central committee of 701 members soon.

JSP-N will hold a statute convention to adopt the party’s statute.

Later the party’s general convention will discuss the statute and adopt, reject or modify it. The date for the convention, however, has not been finalised.