The House of Representatives today unanimously passed the government’s Second Constitution Amendment Bill, 2077.

With this, the national coat of arms will incorporate Limpiyadhura, Lipulek and Kalapani in Nepal’s map as per Schedule 3 of the Constitution.

The amendment bill was passed with over two-thirds majority, with the support of primary opposition parties Nepali Congress (NC), Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N) and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP).

The bill will now be presented to the National Assembly where it will undergo a similar proceeding.

The bill is certain to be passed unanimously there as well.

The National Assembly will have to give lawmakers 72 hours to move amendments against the bill’s provisions, if any.

The government had registered the bill in the federal parliament on May 22 and Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Shiva Maya Tumbahamphe had presented it in the parliament on May 24.