After Nepali Congress disagreed to name Pushpa Kamal Dahal Nepal’s next Prime Minister, he was quick to reach out to CPN UML, and seems to have found the support he was looking for.

Dismantling one alliance, and quickly forming another, CPN UML, CPN MC, Rastriya Swatantra Party Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP), Janamat Party and Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), have together to form a new alliance.

The refurbished alliance has decided to name Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) as Prime Minister, as per the alliance’s decision.

The meeting held at the Balkot residence of Oli between CPN-UML, CPN-MC, RSP, RPP, Janamat Party and JSP, has jointly decided to form a new government under Dahal’s leadership.

General Secretary of CPN (MC) Deb Gurung has said that a meeting among CPN-UML Chair Oli, CPN-MC Chair Dahal, and RSP Chair Rabi Lamichhane and others have discussed and came to an agreement regarding the decision.

Similarly, Oli and Dahal have agreed to take the post of Prime Minister alternatively.

The newly forged alliance has also informed the President’s Office about its decision.

Meanwhile, Dahal abandoned the previous five-party ruling alliance after Nepali Congress Chair Sher Bahadur Deuba and other senior leaders failed to reach a consensus after round of meetings.